The JS Foundation is governed by two branches which separate business and technical decisions. The Board of Directors leads the business branch and is composed of member representatives as well as a representative from the Technical Advisory Committee. The technical branch of governance handles all technical aspects of the Foundation, independent of the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BoD) serves as the business guiding branch of governance and as such, they tackle tasks and decisions involving topics like marketing, legal, fundraising, and other business driving topics. They also define the strategic direction for the Foundation and set policies and procedures to enable the Foundation to work toward those strategic goals. The BoD also appoints officers who handle the administrative functions of the board such as scheduling and presiding over meetings (President), taking of minutes (Secretary), budgetary oversight (Treasurer) and other functions as necessary.

Todd Moore
Platinum Director
Daniel Appelquist
Platinum Director
Matthew Lancaster
Gold Director
Dave Methvin
TAC Chair

Technical Advisory Committee

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is responsible for ensuring that collaboration is the driving principle within the JS Foundation, its Projects, between JS Foundation Projects and the broader community. The TAC is also responsible for admitting new projects to the mentorship program as well as graduating projects from the mentorship program. The TAC will serve as the JS Foundation’s primary technical liaison body with external open source projects, consortiums and standards bodies. The TAC Chair sits on the Board of Directors and provides a conduit for communication between the business and technical governing bodies within the JS Foundation.

Dave Methvin
Youngil Choi
Member Rep (Samsung)
Carlos Santana
Member Rep (IBM)
Jonathan Lipps
Project Rep (Appium)
Ilya Volodin
Project Rep (ESLint)
Jory Burson
Community Rep
Brian Kardell
Community Rep


The Board also appoints an Executive Director (ED) to run the Foundation on a day-to-day basis. The ED is tasked with contributing to the strategic initiatives set out by the Board, implementing those initiatives and then reporting back on their success. The ED has the authority, within the boundaries of the current budget, to hire staff and contractors or partner with other organizations to advance the Foundation toward its goals. The ED reports to the President of the Board with additional oversight and input from the full Board.

Mike Dolan
Interim Executive Director
Michael Dolan is the Interim Executive Director for the JavaScript Foundation and VP of Strategic Programs supporting open source projects and legal programs at The Linux Foundation.
Brian Warner
Program Director
Brian is responsible for JavaScript Foundation operations and management.
Sarah Conway
Vice President, Communications
Sarah sets strategic communications direction and oversees press and analyst engagements for the JavaScript Foundation.
Kaitlyn Barnard
Marketing Manager

Kaitlyn is an Integrated Marketing Specialist at The Linux Foundation, focused on developer outreach, and awareness and adoption of technologies across the JavaScript ecosystem.

Prior to joining The Linux Foundation, Kaitlyn worked as a Community Manager, specializing in developer experience and marketing for open source projects at Stormpath (now Okta). She worked to build Stormpath’s developer following through community events and technical inbound marketing initiatives. She holds a BBA with a concentration in Marketing from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Jory Burson
I’m just here to help